Where I Live Now summary Ë 8

review Where I Live Now

Where I Live Now summary Ë 8 Ñ [Reading] ➶ Where I Live Now Author Sharon Butala – Johns-cycling-diary.co.uk An intimate and uplifting book about finding renewal and hope through grief and loss “It was a terrible life; it was an enchanted life; it was a blessed life And of course one day it ended” —Sha An intimate and uplifting bookPlace to call home Torn by grief and loss she fled the ranchlands of southwest Saskatchewan and moved to the city leaving almost everything behind A lifetime of possessions was reduced to a few boxes of books clothes and keepsakes But a lifetime of experience went with her and a limitless well of memory of personal failures of a marriage that everybody said would not last but did of the unbreakable bonds of family Reinventing herself in an urban landscape was painful and facing her new life as a wido. When I moved to rural British Columbia a friend gave me a copy of Butala's The Perfection of the Morning The experience of a woman displaced from the urban professional life where she was comfortable in her skin moved me to the core I was heading for my first experience of rural living ill euipped for what I would find thereRural life never fit like a comfortable shoe but I came to love the people and landscape and the Big Lessons of a life so different from anything I had known Sharon Butala became something of a distant mentor to me in my new life I had a chance to meet her when she came to my nearby town for a writers' workshop Over lunch with her and a talented local writer the three of us found we had much in common in our experience as rural writersI am no longer in rural BC so was keen to read what choices Butala had made after the death of her beloved husband I anticipated her choice to return to an urban setting but the book was so much than a record of her path back to a kind of life she had set aside decades earlier Butala is both lyrical and matter of fact in her exploration of the life and landscape of her years as a ranch wife and writer Her grief made me ache as what she had with Peter is forever lost But her poetic writing and the clarity of her vision coupled with her love of the natural world in which she spent so many years made the book a joy to readAlthough the book can be enjoyed without first reading The Perfection of the Morning it offers a richer experience to those acuainted with the earlier book Sharon Butala has added richness to the Canadian literary landscape This book is a good example of why she is an important figure among our writers

read Ø eBook, ePUB or Kindle PDF Ì Sharon Butala

An intimate and uplifting book about finding renewal and hope through grief and loss “It was a terrible life it was an enchanted life it was a blessed life And of course one day it ended” Sharon Butala In the tradition of Joan Didion’s The Year of Magical Thinking Diana Athill’s Somewhere Towards the End and Atul Gawande’s Being Mortal comes a revelatory new book from Where I PDFEPUBone of our beloved writers When Sharon Butala’s husband Peter died unexpectedly she found herself with no. I loved this book Although it's theme is that of the author's experience of the loss of her husband and how she endures and by necessity drastically changes her lifestyle this is a beautiful memoir of a wonderful marriage and their lives as farmers in Saskatchewan Sharon Butala's writing comes over like a conversation with an old friend Thought provoking beautifully written amazing descriptions interesting facts and much all made this a real gem

Sharon Butala Ì 8 review

Where I Live NowW tested her very being Yet out of this hard won new existence comes an astonishingly frank compassionate and moving memoir that offers not only solace and hope but inspiration to those who endure profound loss Often called one of this country’s true visionaries Sharon Butala shares her insights into the grieving process and reveals the small triumphs and funny moments that kept her going Where I Live Now is profound in its understanding of the many homes women must build for themselves in a lifeti. The author tells of her late in life marriage to a Saskatchewan famer cut short by his cancer diagnosis the ecology and history of the land he tended how she grieved his death and moved on literally in the aftermath This short thoughtful memoir packs in a lot of content A bit slow but will have the reader thinking about their place in the worldhttpswwwinstagramcompBTBkEfDx