Infinite Country doc ↠ Hardcover Ê johnscyclingdiary

reader Infinite Country

Infinite Country doc ↠ Hardcover Ê johnscyclingdiary ✓ ➮ Infinite Country Read ➶ Author Patricia Engel – Johns-cycling-diary.co.uk For readers of Valeria Luiselli and Edwidge Danticat an urgent and lyrical novel about a Colombian family fractured by deportation offering an intimate perspectFor readers of Valeria Luiselli and Edwidge Danticat an urgent and lyrical novel about a Colombian family fractured by deportation offering an intimate perspective on an experience that so many have endured and are enduring right now Talia is being held at a correctional facility for adolescent girls in the forested mountains of Colombia after committing an impulsive act of violence that may or may not have been warranted She urgently needs to get out and get back home to Bogotá where her father and a plane ticket to the United States are waiting for her If she misses her flight she might also miss her chance to finally be reunited with her family in the north How this family Review to come

Patricia Engel ¹ Infinite Country pdf

Came to occupy two different countries two different worlds comes into focus like twists of a kaleidoscope We see Talia’s parents Mauro and Elena fall in love in a market stall as teenagers against a backdrop of civil war and social unrest We see them leave Bogotá with their firstborn Karina in pursuit of safety and opportunity in the United States on a temporary visa and we see the births of two children Nando and Talia on American soil We witness the decisions and indecisions that lead to Mauro’s deportation and the family’s splintering the costs they’ve all been living with ever since Award winning internationally acclaimed author Patricia Engel herself a dual cit Note I received a DRC from the publishers for professional reasons I’m including feedback on personal accounts honestly and these opinions are my ownWhat would you give up to give your children a better life? How do you choose between pieces of your family? What does it mean to carry the weight of someone else’s absence? To say Patricia Engel wrote an immigration novel crystallizes the core of this book but it also deeply undersells it This is an honest unflinching portrait of how the immigration system is designed to destroy families and the difficult decisions and ramifications that accompany both staying and leaving one’s homeland The family at the center of the narrative is of mixed status undocumented parents with one child born in Colombia and two born in the US This is an incredibly common condition in immigrant families and something that is inadeuately addressed in the greater conversation I think everyone who read and praised American Dirt needs to experience this novel as well as there is a great deal insight into this conversation that is stunningly portrayed in the prose Engel has elegantly beautifully rendered the impact of these stresses on the different members of the family Although it’s easy to want to scream at the characters for some of the choices they make by the end you only want to see them all fulfilled the harm plucked from their souls and warmth put into their lives It also contains as many amazing insights into life love and the nature of humanity as are expected with any of Engel’s well considered novels For example from the viewpoint of wife and mother Elena“Only women knew the strength it took to love men through their evolution to who they thought they were supposed to be”Or this general observation“People say drugs and alcohol are the greatest and most persuasive narcotics the elements most likely to ruin a life They’re wrong It’s love”Always one of my favorite aspects of Engel’s writing these observations are just as vividly displayed in Infinite Country perhaps even so This is a novel to fall in love with to highlight and keep uotations close to your heart It is a story that will overwhelm you and an ending you’ll want to read over and over

doc ✓ Infinite Country ¹ Patricia Engel

Infinite Country Izen and the daughter of Colombian immigrants gives voice to all five family members as they navigate the particulars of their respective circumstances And all the while the metronome ticks Will Talia make it to Bogotá in time? And if she does can she bring herself to trade the solid facts of her father and life in Colombia for the distant vision of her mother and siblings in America? Rich with Bogotá urban life steeped in Andean myth and tense with the daily reality of the undocumented in America Infinite Country is the story of two countries and one mixed status family for whom every triumph is stitched with regret and every dream pursued bears the weight of a dream deferr I finished this book in tears because wow this book took my breath away This story gripped my heart from the beginning The way the author entwined Andean myths and legends of Colombia into the story made the story itself that much special I had to do a little research into these myths because I wasn’t familiar and I encourage you to do the same The heartache and hope written in these pages is something that resonates with so many of us who have left or fled from our countries Leaving people behind that you love not knowing if you’ll ever see them again is a trauma that scars you forever Being separated by man made borders and papers that determine your worth is a pain that sets into your bones that you learn to live with but is always there as a constant reminder of what has been given up